Time To Get Sh*t Done!

It’s the 3rd November already. I have a paper due in on Friday…. How is it that time already!?

What steps am I taking to write this paper, you ask? Well… I recently bought some mini Yankee Candles and they are just whispering to me “light me Sian” “watch me burn Sian”. My phone keeps popping up with game notifications, and I cannot seem to resist the temptation. I’m also writing this blog post.. So as you can tell, my studying is going well. Well it would, if there weren’t so many distractions!

I guess it’s time to stop procrastinating and actually start this paper!

Before I start though, I need to plan ahead. I’m a planner and I feel much more at ease knowing what I’m doing.

  1. Set Little Deadlines. First of all I need to set smaller deadlines. I will split up my word count and set myself a daily limit. If I go over that limit that’s great, but just in case I need a little push I will have this goal of so many words to write before I can do anything fun. I’m a sucker for goals, so this should really help.
  2. Tidy Work Area. My work area is usually pretty cluttered, and that suits me just fine. But I will get rid of the books and notes that are not relevant to my paper. Otherwise that’s just adding unnecessary time and effort searching through the wrong information.
  3. Limit Technology. Unfortunately I need the internet on my laptop for this paper, so I will have to be strong and not aimlessly search the web. I also use my iPad to write notes in lectures, so that could be bad.. But I will turn the WiFi off, and turn my phone off. That will definitely help with those blasted game requests.
  4. Listen To Soft Music. I always write better with music on, I just usually tend to pick upbeat music that I end up dancing and singing at the top of my lungs too. Not helpful. I might try whale sounds…
  5. Don’t Stress. I’m a worrier, there’s nothing I can do to change that at the moment. It’s who I am. But I can prevent myself from getting worked up and letting it consume me. If the pressure gets too much or I hit a wall in my paper, then I will take deep breaths and take a break. Not a long break, just long enough to go downstairs and grab the tub of Nutella.
  6. Email My Tutor. They tell you over and over again how they are there to help, how they will read through it before you submit it. Yet I ignore that over and over again, and struggle in silence. This time, I will email my work to my tutor and see if there is anything I’ve missed or anything I can improve on.

Well that sure wasted some time, I guess I can crack on now!

3 comments

  1. Good luck with the work! You’ll do wonderfully, just take small but harsh steps.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, and I plan too! It wont get done otherwise.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment